TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



| More

TMCNet:  Prestigious Fellow Rank Earned by 71 OSA Members

[December 13, 2013]

Prestigious Fellow Rank Earned by 71 OSA Members

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) WASHINGTON, Dec. 11 -- The Optical Society of America issued the following news release: The Optical Society (OSA) ( Board of Directors is pleased to announce that 71 OSA Members have been elected as the newest class of OSA Fellow Members. Individual OSA Members who have significantly contributed to the advancement of optics and photonics are eligible for election to the rank of fellow and will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2014. A listing of all 71 new fellow members appears below.

OSA Fellows are selected based on their overall impact on optics, as gauged through factors such as specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, technical leadership in the field, and service to OSA and the global optics community. Drawing from nominations from current fellows, the OSA Fellow Members Committee recommends candidates to the OSA Board of Directors. This process is highly competitive, as no more than 10 percent of the OSA Membership may be Fellows. More than 40 percent of this year's fellow members reside outside of the United States.

"The distinction of OSA Fellow signifies members who are at the top of the optics and photonics profession," said OSA President Donna Strickland. "On behalf of OSA, I am pleased to acknowledge their outstanding contributions and honor my OSA colleagues with this well-deserved distinction." 2014 OSA Fellow Members: Andrea Alu, University of Texas at Austin, USA * Richard D. Averitt, Boston University, USA ( John H. Belk, Boeing Research & Technology, USA * Timothy J. Bunning, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, USA * Zenghu Chang, University of Central Florida, USA * Scott A. Crooker, Los Alamos National Lab, USA * Brian T. Cunningham, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA * Milorad Cvijetic, University of Arizona, USA *Marcos Dantus, Michigan State University, USA * Chen Yuan Dong, National Taiwan University, Taiwan * Charles G. Durfee, Colorado School of Mines, USA * Xudong (Sherman) Fan, University of Michigan, USA *Alessandra Gatti, Institute of Photonics and Nanotechnologies of CNR (National Research Council), Italy * Ornan (Ori) Gerstel, Cisco, Israel * Bo Gu, BOS Photonics, USA * Chunlei Guo, University of Rochester, USA * Mool C. Gupta, University of Virginia, USA * Ingmar Hartl, DESY, Germany *Ahmed Hassanein, Purdue University, USA * Janos Hebling, University of Pecs, Hungary * Hamid Hemmati, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA * Ortwin Hess, Imperial College London, UK * Craig A. Hoffman, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA * Simon Martin Hooker, University of Oxford, UK * Janice A. Hudgings, Pomona College, USA * Diana Huffaker, University of California Los Angeles, USA * Hongxing Jiang, Texas Tech University, USA * Maria Kafesaki, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas and University of Crete, Greece * Kafai Lai, IBM, USA * Anders G. Larsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden * Laura M. Lechuga, Institut Catalr de Nanocicncia i Nanotecnologia (ICN2) CSIC and CIBER-BBN, Spain * Uriel Levy, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel * Gong-Ru Lin, National Taiwan University, Taiwan * Jose Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain * Alan A. Madej, National Research Council, Canada * Laura Marcu, University of California Davis, USA * Nergis Mavalvala, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA * David E. McClelland, Australian National University, Australia * Andrea Melloni, Politecnico di Milano, Italy * Jerome Mertz, Boston University, USA * Donald T. Miller, Indiana University, USA * Kathy T. Mullen, McGill University, Canada * Mikhail A. Noginov, Norfolk State University, USA * Vasilis Ntziachristos, Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen, Germany * Kyunghwan Oh, Yonsei University, South Korea * Wolfgang Osten, University of Stuttgart, Germany * Aydogan Ozcan, University of California Los Angeles, USA * Peter E. Powers, University of Dayton, USA * Min Qiu, Zhejiang University, China, and KTH, Sweden * Rebecca Richards-Kortum, Rice University, USA * Jennifer C. Ricklin, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA * Werner Rosenkranz, University of Kiel, Germany * Mark Saffman, University of Wisconsin, USA * Holger Schmidt, University of California Santa Cruz, USA * Alphan Sennarodlu, Koc University, Turkey * Yan-Kuin Su, Kun Shan University, Taiwan * Misha Sumetsky, Aston University, UK *Masatoshi Suzuki, KDDI R&D Laboratories, Japan * Dacheng Tao, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia * Yasuo Tomita, University of Electro-Communications, Japan * Alessandro Tredicucci, NEST, Instituto Nanoscienze-CNR in Pisa, Italy * Bruce Warren Wessels, Northwestern University, USA * Brian C. Wilson, University of Toronto, Canada * Chee Wei Wong, Columbia University, USA * Franco N. C. Wong, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA * Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, Harvard University, USA * Dan-Xia Xu, National Research Council, Canada * Rui Qing Yang, University of Oklahoma, USA * Qiwen Zhan, University of Dayton, USA * Zhiping (James) Zhou, Peking University, China * Jonathan D. Zuegel, University of Rochester, USA TNS 24HariRad-131213-30FurigayJane-4576697 30FurigayJane (c) 2013 Targeted News Service

[ Back To IBM News 's Homepage ]


Technology Marketing Corporation

2 Trap Falls Road Suite 106, Shelton, CT 06484 USA
Ph: +1-203-852-6800, 800-243-6002

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2020 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy